Buttercup, the Stuffed Donkey

I don’t remember the first moment I unwrapped him, but Buttercup came into my life on Christmas morning, 1980.  I was seven years old, and I had asked Santa for a pony.  I was disappointed when my wish was not granted.  My parents told me that Santa knew that our yard was not big enough for a pony and that the neighbors would not appreciate the stench of manure.  Later in the day, after we had filled our bellies with turkey, stuffing, squash and cranberry sauce, my uncle presented me with one final gift.  It was a soft stuffed donkey with sad, droopy eyes, and a mane and tail of white yarn.  His body was soft, beige; the insides of his ears were dark brown, as were his “hooves.”  From that moment on, Buttercup became my favorite plush toy.

My parents have many pictures of me holding Buttercup.  He was my sleeping companion well into my high school years.  I talked to him, cuddled him, and braided his mane and tail on numerous occasions.  He kept me warm under the covers, and he protected me from the boogeyman.  Buttercup comforted me when I cried and forgave me when I accidentally tossed him out of bed.  His new stuffed animal smell faded quickly, and soon he smelled like my pajamas.  On occasion, Buttercup would go for a bath in the washing machine and come out of the dryer smelling fresh and clean, like Bounce fabric softener.  At one point, Buttercup’s plastic eye got dented, but I was thankful that he never lost his adorable expression.  He always looked as if he were saying, “I’m sorry.”

Much to my chagrin, Buttercup’s eyes invited unwanted attention from my father.  Dad enjoyed poking Buttercup’s eyes with his two fingers like Curly did in “The Three Stooges.”  I believed that Dad was hurting Buttercup, and I would scold him for his cruelty, but he would always laugh and reassure me that Buttercup could not feel it. Dad poked Buttercup’s eyes on a regular basis, even though he knew it bothered me.  Buttercup’s torment went on for years; only as an adult am I able to laugh.  Dad had (and still has) a warped sense of humor — one that I was too young to appreciate at the time.

When I left for college, I decided to leave Buttercup behind.  I was afraid I’d be teased by my roommates; even worse, I feared that he’d be stolen by some callous boys.  More than anything, I did not want to sully Buttercup’s innocence by exposing him to the adult world of college.  So he remained on my bed at home, waiting patiently for me to return on weekends and holidays.  Until then, his only company came when my mom popped into my room to dust the furniture.

Today, Buttercup still sits on my bed, but it is a newer bed in a different house in a different city.  His fur is not as soft, and his head flops from side to side because he’s lost some of the stuffing in his neck.  Today, I have a real animal to cuddle — my dog Daisy.  Daisy has always known that Buttercup is off-limits.  Even as a puppy, she never tried to chew him.  It was as if she knew that he was worthy of great respect.  After all, Buttercup is a symbol of my childhood innocence, of simplicity and of security.  When I look at him, I remember the little girl who wanted a horse, but got so much more out of a donkey with expressive eyes.

Image

What was your favorite stuffed animal as a child?  And where is it now?

24 responses to “Buttercup, the Stuffed Donkey

  1. I have been looking for one of these donkeys for 5 years now. We use to have one that belonged to my late husband. He had ever since he was very young. He passed away when my son was only two and I gave my son that donkey cause it was the one thing that he always loved that belonged to his dad. It started getting very warn and so we got him a glass case to put it in so that he could keep it safe. Our house burnt down and we lost everything in 2007 and I have been trying to replace it for him since then. If you have any idea where I could get one I would greatly appreciate it. I am willing to buy it. He is turning 21 in march and this would be the best gift I could give him. He talks about it all the time and I just can’t find one. Yours is the first on I have seen. If you could help me I would be so greatful.

  2. Dear Jackie,
    Thank you for sharing your heartfelt story. I am very sorry for your losses; however, Buttercup is not for sale, nor do I know where you could find one similar. You might try eBay. I wish you luck in finding one to replace the one you lost.

  3. I have the same stuffed donkey! She was my brother’s originally (he was born in 1981), then came to me when I was born in 1985. Definitely my first friend and a very prized possession. I’ve wondered for ages where she came from but her tag is faded all to white. Can you read yours?

    • Buttercup doesn’t have a tag anymore. I lived in NH and my uncle probably bought him in Massachusetts. I will ask if he remembers where he bought it but I doubt he will.

    • I bought my daughter this donkey at Sear’s in 1980. She was a year old. When I bought it I thought it was Eeyore and always wondered why the coloring was different. Now I know.

  4. Still in search for my son one of these donkeys. If anyone out there is willing to sell or rehome theirs I am willing to pay for it and shipping. My son is going thru a very hard time in his life and is in need of something that reminds him of his father. This is the only thing that he has a memory of that includes his dad. If anyone can help or help me find one, I would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

  5. Daisykeeper, did you give Buttercup his name or did he come with it? When I bought this donkey for my daughter I thought I was buying her Eeyore. Always wondered why he looked different. He is missing some of his main now but otherwise he is doing good. My daughter passed him along to her son and now he is back with her.

    • Yes, I gave Buttercup his name. I knew he wasn’t Eeyore because he had tan fur, not gray, and he wasn’t part of the Winnie the Pooh collection. Maybe my uncle bought mine at Sears, too!

      • Thank you! I have recently contacted Sears but no answer. Was hoping to find out who he was and then my daughter came across your photo of Buttercup and thought that was the name he came with.
        Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. This is Horace Horse by Russ 1978.I hope this helps someone
    in their search. 🙂

  7. This is my own personal childhood favourite toy too from almost 40 years ago– and mine was part of our family history for many years and even accompanied my mom in her final illness. I love mine and still have him. ❤ — Amazing, I happened on this page quite by accident. This horse was indeed originally "Horace" the horse made by Russ & CO. I was able to find another one some years ago in good condition on eBay.

  8. If Jackie comes back/if she has a website or can be contacted, I may be able to help her with the one I got in good, un-played with condition. Or she can also try searching on eBay using terms like ‘vintage horse push’ or something similar (in case their toy is missing his tag). If I found one by accident, I’m sure she can eventually locate one if she keeps trying. I looked at the tag and it is “Russ(Berrie) ‘HORACE’ -” 1978 I hope this helps 🙂 having trouble posting this comment so I hope it goes through.

    • Bugbuggybug. You can send me an email at: emisha03@hotmail.com or you can text me at 765-341-9686
      I am still looking for one. I found one on ebay but it had already been sold. If you can help me out I would be greatly appreciated.
      Thank you,
      Jackie Scott.

      • done and done! I’m sending Jackie an email right now to tell her about the find! 🙂 (so she can edit this in case she doesn’t want to have this posted)

  9. Thank you for your story. I actually had this toy as a child and still have it, though its poor eye has cracked. I also grew up in NH!

  10. I have the exact stuffed animal but mine is “Horace” the horse. I got my Horace around the same time. Wish I could share his photo. He has a whole lot less yarn left. He is still lived so very much! Each of my daughters have loved him as well.

  11. There’s two Russ Horace The Horse up for bid on Ebay this week.

  12. I have this same donkey, and it was always my favorite toy! What’s funny is, mine doesn’t have a Russ tag, with the name Horace, and wasn’t bought at Sears. The only tag it has is a Zayre one, an east coast department store that closed down (I’m originally from Massachusetts). When I google the Russ one, the only difference I can see is the main looks a little longer, and seems to fall out easy.

Leave a comment